EVENTS    |    ABOUT US    |    CONTACT    |    LIBRARY      Find Us On Facebook social twitter Instagram icon youtube Kawartha Conservation On LinkedIn 

Kawartha Conservation is a watershed-based, non-profit organization established in 1979 by the municipalities within our watershed under the Ontario Conservation Authorities Act. We are one of 36 conservation authorities operating in Ontario and a member of Conservation Ontario.

Balancing environmental capacity and human need, we manage natural resource features that are essential for sustaining water quality and quantity, through watershed planning, stewardship, environmental monitoring and research, and management of conservation and natural areas.

Our programs and services are focused within the natural boundaries of the Kawartha watershed, which extend from Lake Scugog in the southwest and Pigeon Lake in the east, to Balsam Lake in the northwest and Crystal Lake in the northeast – a total of 2,563 square kilometres.

These natural boundaries overlap the six municipalities that govern Kawartha Conservation through representation on our Board of Directors. Our municipal partners include the City of Kawartha Lakes, the Township of Scugog, the Township of Brock, the Municipality of Clarington, the Municipality of Trent Lakes, and the Township of Cavan Monaghan.


2017 to 2021 Strategic Plan

Kawartha Conservation Strategic Plan proof 1


A sustainable watershed with clean and abundant water and natural resources assured for future generations


To be leaders in integrated watershed management and conservation.


Outstanding water quality and quantity management, supported by healthy landscapes through planning, stewardship, science and education.


Map of the Kawartha Watershed and Municipal Partners